BusinessEnugu NewsLife StylePoliticsTechWorld

National Association of Udi Students (Naus) Gets New Executives

By Johnpaul Anih, 19-9-2020

Christian Onuigbo – a student of University of Nigeria Nsukka, has emerged the New President of the National Association of Udi Students, Naus.
He emerged victorious after a well monitored election conducted at the Udi Council Headquarters on Saturday.

The election which brought together over 600 Udi Students of different tertiary institutions in Udi local government, was conducted in strict compliance to the Covid 19 protocols.

Advert placement

The Chairman of the election Board Hon. Francis Oha who earlier assured of a transparent process, maintained that double voting and cancellation of the electoral materials amounts to outright cancellation.

He called on all the candidates to conduct themselves in a manner that will not geopardise the aim of the process.

Outlining the rules which includes having a school identity card, local government identification letter or any document showing that such a voter is a student, the students pledged maximum cooperation for a free, credible and transparent election.

The process which commenced with accreditation of voters in the presence of security personnel, some government functionaries and other observers, ended with no rancor.

Out of the total vote casts, Christian Onuigbo garned a total votes of 197 to clinch the Presidential seat against his closest rival Miss Onyia Favour Ugwumsinachi who scored 169 votes.

In their seperate interviews, the outgone President Comrade Austin Okwu, Kester Ude, Comr. Ikenna Kingsley, Hon. Osita Ngwu, Comrade Joseph Onah and Chris Enemoh Commended the credibility of the process and prayed for God’s unconditional blessings to Chief Sir Maurice Akueme, Hon. Ikenna Onaga and everyone that supported them financially.

The new President, Christian Onuigbo, who could not hide his joy, thanked the students both those that voted in his favour and those against him, pledging to work with every sense of humility and respect. He also promised to run an open door policy embedded in transparency.

Other Elected Executives include:
Onoh Kingsley – Director of Sports

Onyia ThankGod – Director Social

Treasurer – Oshim Valentine

Financial Secretary – Aniji Wilfred

Publicity Secretary – Igwenagu Emmanuel etc

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button